Friday, December 2, 2022
HomeRoboticsROS Awards 2022 outcomes - Robohub

ROS Awards 2022 outcomes – Robohub

The ROS Awards are the Oscars of the ROS world! The intention of those awards is to specific recognition for contributions to the ROS neighborhood and the event of the ROS-based robotic trade, and to assist these contributions achieve consciousness.


  • Collection of the winners is made by nameless on-line voting over a interval of two weeks
  • Anyone within the ROS neighborhood can vote by means of the voting enabled web site
  • Organizers of the awards present an preliminary checklist of 10 attainable initiatives for every class however the checklist might be elevated at any time by anyone in the course of the voting interval
  • For the reason that Awards are organized by The Assemble none of its merchandise or builders might be voted
  • Winners are introduced on the ROS Builders Day yearly convention
  • New on 2022 version: Winners of earlier editions can not win once more, as a way to not focus the concentrate on the identical initiatives on a regular basis. Keep in mind, with these awards, we need to assist unfold all ROS initiatives!


  1. Each individual can solely vote as soon as in every class
  2. You can’t change your solutions upon getting submitted your vote
  3. Voting is closed 3 days earlier than the convention, and a listing of the finalists per every class is introduced in the identical week
  4. Voters can not use flaws within the system to affect voting. Any detection of making an attempt to trick the system will disqualify the votes. You may, although, promote your favourite amongst your networks so others vote for it.

Measures have been taken to forestall as a lot as attainable batch voting from a single individual.


Greatest ROS Software program

The Greatest ROS Software program class contains any software program that runs with ROS. It may be a bundle printed on the repo of only a software program that makes use of ROS libraries to provide an enter. Open Supply and closed supply are each legitimate.


  1. Ignition Gazebo, by Open Robotics
  2. Groot Conduct Tree, by Davide Faconti
  3. Webots, by Cyberbotics
  4. SMACC2, by Brett Aldrich
  5. ros2_control, by a number of ROS builders
  6. PlotJuggler, by Davide Faconti

Winner: Webots, by Cyberbotics

Study extra in regards to the winner on this video:

Greatest ROS-Based mostly Robotic

The Greatest ROS-Based mostly Robotic class contains any robotic that runs ROS inside it. They are often robotics merchandise, robots for analysis, or robots for schooling. In all circumstances, they have to be operating ROS inside.


  1. Panda robotic arm, by Franka Emika
  2. TIAGo, by Pal Robotics
  3. UR robotic arm, by Common Robots
  4. Turtlebot 4, by Clearpath
  5. Nanosaur, by Raffaello Bonghi
  6. Leo Rover, by Leo Rover

Winner: Nanosaur, by Raffaello Bonghi

Study extra in regards to the winner on this video:

Greatest ROS Developer

Builders are those that create all of the ROS software program that we love. The Greatest ROS Developer class lets you vote for any developer who has contributed to ROS improvement in a single sense or one other.


  1. Francisco Martín
  2. Davide Faconti
  3. Raffaello Bonghi
  4. Brett Aldrich
  5. Victor Mayoral Vilches
  6. Pradheep Krishna

Winner: Francisco Martín

Study extra in regards to the winner on this video:

Insights from the 2022 Version

  1. This 12 months, the third time we organise the awards, now we have elevated the whole variety of votes by 500% So we are able to say that the winners are a superb illustration of the emotions of the neighborhood.
  2. Nonetheless this 12 months, the winners of earlier editions obtained many votes. Thankfully, we utilized the brand new rule of not permitting to win earlier winners, to offer house for different ROS initiatives have the concentrate on the neighborhood, and therefore assist to create a wealthy ROS ecosystem.


The ROS Awards began in 2020 with a primary version the place the winners had been a few of the greatest and well-known initiatives within the ROS world. On this third version, now we have massively elevated the variety of votes from the earlier version. We count on this award will proceed to contribute to the spreading of excellent ROS initiatives.

See you once more at ROS Awards 2023!


Ricardo Téllez
is Co-founder and CTO of The Assemble



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments